[ Student Login | Faculty Login | AV Halls Online | Library Search | Contact Us ]




Last October 3, 2009 (Saturday), Holy Name University, for the first time in its history, saw the launching of the University-wide Rizal Festival of Excellence - a literary-musical-aesthetic-quizzical whole-day affair sponsored by the KAPARIZ (KAbataang PAngarap ni RIZ), HNU Chapter, led by Mr. Joey Arabejo, who, at the same time, is the President of the HNU-CSG (Central Student Government). Mr. Arabejo get the full support of the CSG key officers, acting as his staff, together with Mrs. Agnes Bustrillos, the KAPARIZ adviser.

The affair was co-sponsored by the College of Arts and Sciences, under the Deanship of Engr. Juliet M. Salgados, with her chairpersons all mobilized.

Mr. Ramon Boloron, chair of the Languages Department, was the overall chairman, coordinating with the Deans to ensure maximum participation from the students.

Drs. Porferia Lao and Josefina Clarete, of the Criminology and Math & Natural Sciences Departments respectively, mobilized their "best" student talents; and, Mr. Crisanto Estonina, chair of the Social Sciences Department, mobilized its faculty handling" Rizal course who, in turn, mobilized their students for maximum participation.

The afternoon's Closing Program was graced by the presence of HNU's VP for Academic Affairs, Fr. Ted P. Gapuz, SVD, CAS Dean, Engr. Juliet M. Salgados, CAS teachers, HNU students, and most especially, the famous Boholano Historian and Guest Speaker of the day - Engr. Jess Tirol.

During the program, honors were conferred to the following winners of the first-prize:

  1. Mr. Vic Cagaanan (CBA) - Rizal and History Quiz
  2. Mr. Ralp Ryan Lagura (CBA) - Oratorical Contest
  3. Ms. Julie Franz Mangana (CAS) - Extemporaneous Speaking
  4. Ms. Karina Uy (CAS) - On-the-Spot Essay-Writing
  5. (CBA GROUP) - Makabayang Sayawitan
  6. Mr. Arnold Ingles (COE) - On-the-Spot Painting

The BOARD OF TRUSTEES for the whole event was composed of the following:

  • Prof. Enrique P. Catayas - Chairman, Rizal and History
  • Prof. Raul Phillip O. Gatal - Chairman, Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Prof. Rosalina R,. Sarabosing - Chairperson, Essay-Writing
  • Prof. Socorro Anne P. Revilla - Chairperson, Oratorical Contest
  • Prof. Crisanto Jose O. Estonina - Chairperson, On-the-Spot Painting
  • Prof. Marianito Jose M. Luspo - Chairperson, Makabayang Sayawitan
  • Prof. Ramon A. Boloron - Overall Chairman
  • KAbataang PAngarap ni RIZal - Supervising Committee
  • Central Student Government - Sponsor, Finance and Human Resources
  • College of Arts and Sciences - Co-Sponsor and Human Resources

More stories...

Copyright © 2015. All rights reserved.
Janssen Heights, Dampas District, Tagbilaran City, Bohol, Philippines 6300
Information: +63 (38) (Globelines) 501 7731 . 501 0125 . (Cruztelco) 235 3934
Telefax: +63 38 501 7731
Privacy Policy . Terms and Conditions . Contact Us

Last updated: (GMT+0800) August 07, 2013. This site is best viewed using Mozilla Firefox