About the College of Education

The teacher education program of Holy Name University then Holy Name College (HNC) is one of the first collegiate programs that were offered when the school formally opened in June 1947. Mr. Vicente Manalo was designated as its first dean.

In July 1950, the Bachelor of Science in Education was given government recognition.  Five years later, in June 1955, the Collegiate in Home Economics was given government recognition and in June 1957, the Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education was given the same.

It was during Fr. Lesage’s second term that DWC received government recognition for a four-year BSEED-HE and Master of Arts in Guidance and Counseling.

In 1974, Dr. Guadalupe Saturinas was designated dean of the College.  In 1988, Dr. Saturinas went on a study leave to finish her doctoral degree.  Dr. Justiniana Dohig was appointed acting dean.

In June 2009, Dr. Roque Bongcac assumed the deanship of the College. In 2018, Prof. Jaremilleta Arawiran was appointed chairperson.

The College is Level II–PAASCU accredited and is recognized as Center of Development in Teacher Education by the Commission on Higher Education.  This recognition which is given only to best schools in the country is an affirmation of the good quality of teacher education the College provides.

Image
Dr. Roque Bongcac
Dean
College of Education

College of Education

Vision

A dynamic teacher-training college harmonizing Catholic faith and instructional excellence for the service of society.

Mission

We commit ourselves to the:
  • practice of Gospel values;
  • education of highest standards aligned with  the Christian principles and current realities; and
  • formation of competent and responsible  teachers in constant  search of relevant  knowledge.

Goals

We aim to:

  • contribute to the building of a just, safe and  progressive society;
  • offer relevant, research-based and Christian-oriented curricular programs; and
  • promote discovery learning by exposing students to various instructional contexts.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Level

Bachelor of Elementary Education (BEEd)
Bachelor of Technology and Livelihood Education (BTLEd)
Bachelor of Physical Education (BPEd)
Bachelor of Culture and Arts Education (BCAEd)
Bachelor of Special Needs Education (BSNEd)
Bachelor of Secondary Education (BSEd) with specializations in:
  • English
  • Filipino
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Studies

Graduate Level

Doctor of Philosophy in English Language Teaching
Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Management
Master of Arts in Physical Education
Master of Arts in Education with specializations in:
  • Teaching Secondary School Subjects
  • English for IT
  • Cultural Education
  • Elementary Mathematics Teaching
  • Filipino
  • Teaching Elementary School Subjects
  • Science Education
  • Elementary Science Teaching
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Guidance and Counseling
  • Administration and Supervision

Faculty and Staff

bongcac.jpg

Dr. Roque Bongcac
Dean
coed.dean@hnu.edu.ph

 

arawiran.jpg
Prof. Jaremilleta Arawiran, MA
Chairperson
coed.chair@hnu.edu.ph

Mary Roselle Bulilawa
mbulilawa@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Rafunzel Bulilawa
rbulilawa@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Bernarose Cadigal, MA
bcadigal@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Jocelyn Deniega, MA
jdeniega@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Ethel Doria
edoria@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Arlene Loquias, MA
aloquias@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Michelle Rellita
mrellita@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Barnette Edsel Tatad, MA
btatad@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Rufa Roxanne Bugash, MA
rbugash@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Naomi Digal, MA

Dr. Maria Angelina Ibba
aibba@hnu.edu.ph

Prof.Ted Bryan Ladaran, MA
tladaran@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Pedro Jr Marcojos, MA
pmarcojos@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Cesar Pagulong, MA
cpagulong@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Guadalupe Saturinas
gsaturinas@hnu.edu.ph


Maria Lourdes Culpa

Secretary

Research and Publications

Devotion or Profanity: Examining the Boholano Folk Beliefs on the Instrumentalities of Floral Ornaments in Lenten Procession

Development and Validation of English Language Proficiency Test

Designing Authentic Assessments within Outcomes-based Teaching and Learning: Critical Reflections on Practice (published)

School Culture and Effectiveness (published)

Student Organizations

Organization Student Membership
Young Educators’ Society  
Socialis Studorium  
English Majors’ Society  
Samahang Filipino  
Mathematics Club  
Science Club  
Physical Education and MAPEH Majors’ Society  
SPEDSTERS’ Club  
Technical Livelihood Education – Learners and Educators Society