College of Education

 

About the College of Education


The teacher education program of Holy Name University, then Holy Name College (HNC), is one of the first collegiate programs offered when the school formally opened in June 1947. In July 1950, its Bachelor of Science in Education program received government recognition. Five years later, in June 1955, the Collegiate in Home Economics was granted government recognition. Two years later, the Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education was also recognized.

It was during Fr. Lesage’s second term that DWC received government recognition to offer a four-year BSEED-HE and Master of Arts in Guidance and Counseling.

In 1974, Dr. Guadalupe Saturinas was designated dean of the College.  In 1988, Dr. Saturinas went on study leave to finish her doctoral degree.  Dr. Justiniana Dohig was appointed acting dean.

In June 2009, Dr. Roque Bongcac assumed the deanship of the College. In 2018, Prof. Jaremilleta Arawiran was appointed chairperson.

The College is Level II–PAASCU accredited and is recognized as Center of Development in Teacher Education by the Commission on Higher Education. 

Vision, Mission and Goals


Vision

A dynamic teacher-training college harmonizing Catholic faith and instructional excellence for the service of society.


Mission

We commit ourselves to the:
  • practice of Gospel values;
  • education of highest standards aligned with  the Christian principles and current realities; and
  • formation of competent and responsible  teachers in constant  search of relevant  knowledge.

Goals

We aim to:

  • contribute to the building of a just, safe and  progressive society;
  • offer relevant, research-based and Christian-oriented curricular programs; and
  • promote discovery learning by exposing students to various instructional contexts.

Dean and Program Heads

 

bongcac.jpg

Dr. Roque Bongcac
Dean
coed.dean@hnu.edu.ph

 

arawiran.jpg
deniega.jpg
Prof. Jaremilleta Arawiran, MA
Program Head
BEEd/BPEd
programhead1.coed@hnu.edu.ph
Dr. Jocelyn Deniega
Program Head
BSE/BSNEd/BTLEd
programhead2.coed@hnu.edu.ph

College Faculty Members

PERMANENT FACULTY

Prof. Jaremilleta M. Arawiran
MS Mathematics
jarawiran@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Roque A. Bongcac
PhD in Applied Linguistics
rbongcac@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Rafunzel Y. Bulilawa
EdD in Physical Education
rbulilawa@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Fe N. Conui
Master of Arts in Teaching Filipino
fconui@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Jocelyn P. Deniega
DevEd in Special Education
jdeniega@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Ethel Doria
PhD in Educational Management
edoria@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Le Alberthy Hordista
MAED SPED
lahordista@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Fe Janiola
PhD in Research and Evaluation
fjaniola@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Arlene Loquias
MA in Teaching Elem School Subjects
aloquias@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Barnette Edsel Tatad
MA in Physical Education
btatad@hnu.edu.ph

PROBATIONARY FACULTY

Ms. Mary Roselle Bulilawa
mbulilawa@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Bernarose Cadigal
MA in Teaching Human Kinetics
bcadigal@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Carla Jane Tanio
ctanio@hnu.edu.ph

PART-TIME FACULTY

Mrs. Mauricia Bapilar
MA in Science Education
mbapilar@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Jisell Barrete
MAED TESS
jbarrete@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Genevieve Bongcac
MA in Religious Education
gbongcac@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Rufa Roxanne Bugash
Master of Arts in Teaching Filipino
rbugash@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Margelyn Cañon
MA in English Education
mmoncano@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Noemi Digal
MAED TESS
ndigal@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Maria Liesle Dopeño
Doctor in Instructional System & Resource Management
mldopeño@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Maria Angelina Ibba
EdD in Education
aibba@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Joey Jabonete
EdD Major in Physical Education
jjabonete@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Victoria Jaum
MAED TESS
vjaum@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Ted Bryan Ladaran
tladaran@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Amie Macaambac
MA in Physical Education
amacaambac@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Analie Manliguez
MAED TESS
amanliguez@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Owen Naldoza
onaldoza@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Jay Obenza, MPA
jayobenza@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Asuncion Pabalan
PhD in Educational Management
apabalan@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Jose Pabalan III
PhD in Educational Management
jpabalan@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Cesar Pagulong
MA in Teaching PE and Health
cpagulong@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Sarah Palaca
MA in Administration and Supervision
spalaca@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Liza Bea Paroginog
MAT-Social Sciences
lparoginog@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Jean Roy
PhD in Educational Management
jroy@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Ma. Thesageen Sarabia
Doctor in Science Education Major in Biology
mtsarabia@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Celso Tabaranza
MA in Math Education
ctabaranza@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Maria Fe Evelyn Tampos
MA in Teaching Elem School Subjects
mfetampos@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Noel Tuazon
MA in Fine Arts- Creative Writing
ntuazon@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Socorro Anne Zaluaga
DA Literature and Communication
sarevilla@hnu.edu.ph

Graduate School Faculty Members

Dr. Mary Faith Barrete
PhD in Education
mbarrete@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Genevieve Bongcac
MA in Religious Education
gbongcac@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Amie Rosarie Caballo
Doctor in Information Technology
arcaballo@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Josefina Cemine
MA in Religious Education
jcemine@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Maria Liesle Dopeño
Doctor in Instructional
mldopeno@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Fr. Ruel Lero, SVD
PhD in Extension Education minor in Development Communication
rlero@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Prisciano Legitimas
Doctor in Educational Management
plegitimas@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Xiaofang Liu
MA in Chinese Literature
xliu@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Fr. Ramilo Mapaye, SVD
PhD in Mathematics
rmapaye@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Victoria Millanar
Doctor in Education Major in Science Education
vmillnar@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Charina Narido
PhD in Biology- Marine Biology
cnarido@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Crisanto Pancito
Doctor in Education Major in Science
cpansito@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Asuncion Pabalan
PhD in Education Management
apabalan@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Jose Pabalan III
PhD in Education
jpabalan@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Junith Angeli Pueblo
MA in Guidance and Counseling
abpueblo@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Rosalina Sarabosing
DA in Literature and Communication
rsarabosing@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Ace Uy
MA in Math
auy@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Vera Villocido
MA in Science Education
vvillocido@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Nanelyn Wate, JD
MPA
nwate@hnu.edu.ph

Research and Publications


  • Devotion or Profanity: Examining the Boholano Folk Beliefs on the Instrumentalities of Floral Ornaments in Lenten Procession
  • Development and Validation of English Language Proficiency Test
  • Designing Authentic Assessments within Outcomes-based Teaching and Learning: Critical Reflections on Practice (published)
  • School Culture and Effectiveness (published)

Student Organizations


Organization  
Young Educators’ Society  
Socialis Studorium  
English Majors’ Society  
Samahang Filipino  
Mathematics Club  
Science Club  
Physical Education and MAPEH Majors’ Society  
SPEDSTERS’ Club  
Technical Livelihood Education – Learners and Educators Society