College of Arts and Sciences

 

About the College of Arts and Sciences


The College of Arts and Sciences started as a small department called the Liberal Arts in 1950. The first curricular programs offered were the Bachelor of Arts (AB) Majors in Economics, English, Political Science, General Science, History, and Mathematics. Later, the AB English was changed to AB Literature per recommendation of CHED in 1990. In the same year, the AB Mathematics became the BS Mathematics.

In 2002, the BS Biology was offered followed by the AB Mass Communication, BS Psychology, and BS Criminology in 2003-2004. At present the curricular programs of the College are: BA Communication, BA Political Science, BS Biology, BS Psychology, and BS Criminology. The College takes pride in expanding its programs to include, Master of Arts in Public Administration, Master of Arts in Philosophy, and Doctor of Philosophy in Literature.

The College of Arts and Sciences is a multifaceted unit of Holy Name University that caters to the needs of students with inclinations in the fields of Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences. These fields make up the “heart” of a university education. The College offers holistic education that equips students not only with academic competence but also with a sense of social responsibility, moral integrity, and spiritual vivacity. The College is also named as the service department as it caters to the General Education (GE) Courses of all programs. The General Education courses provide the liberal arts background of all academic programs to produce professionals who can relate to various disciplines other than their own.

Vision, Mission and Goals


Vision

Model of Excellence in the Integral Formation of the Human Person

Mission

We commit to:
  • exemplify linguistic competence and media literacy for effective communication;
  • respond to the psychosocial realities through intensified research capacities and innovative instruction;
  • promote responsible stewardship of God’s creation; and
  • nurture a Christ-centered community upholding moral standards.

Goals

We aim to :
  • provide authentic opportunities that develop critical thinking skills;
  • discharge actively the functions of instruction, research and community extension;
  • employ scientific skills for sustainable development; and
  • lead in reviving and sustaining the Basic Ecclesial Community (BEC/GSK).

Academic Programs


Bachelor of Science in Biology

The BS Biology was offered in 2002. This is a four-year program that is  designed not only as a pre-medical course, but also as a preparation for advanced studies in Biology. The BS Biology has sufficient content and depth that offers a combination of theory and practice that encourages students to think, create, and engage. The department has laboratories and facilities necessary to facilitate student learning.

Graduates of the program can engage in teaching, research, government service, grant writing, development work, and advanced studies in Biology and allied/related fields.

Bachelor of Arts in Communication

Holy Name University is the first university in Bohol to offer Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communication. In 2010, the AB Mass Communication was changed to BA in Communication based on CMO No. 10. The program aims to equip students with the knowledge and skills in the theory and practice of communication applicable in various professions and contexts, with focus on the media professions.

Graduates of this program may find employment as public and corporate information officers, communication researchers/analysts, communication/media planners and managers, project development officers, public relations and advertising practitioners, media practitioners, learning systems/multimedia designers, and other allied and related professions.

Bachelor of Arts in Political Science

The AB Political Science has been considered one of the oldest degree programs in the College. In 2017, the AB Political Science was changed to BA Political Science based on CHED CMO No. 5. The program deals with the theory and practice of government, public policies, politics using humanistic and scientific approaches to prepare students for advanced legal studies, public administration, legislation and development work.

The program has produced a number of notable public and civil servants, lawyers, judges, media practitioners, businessmen, legal researchers, public administrators, corporate managers/planners, and development officers who have become successful in their fields of endeavors.

Bachelor of Science in Psychology

In response to the growing demand for quality education in Psychology, the College offered BS Psychology in 2003. The program focuses on the understanding of human behavior and mental processes. It also exposes students to research, laboratory work, and extensive on-the-job-training.

Graduates of the program can become licensed psychometrician, or work in the academe, in Human Resource and research. Graduates may also pursue careers in medicine, law, management, or specialization in Psychology such as clinical, counseling, developmental, educational, social, industrial/ organizational. The program has  contributed to the pool of professionals who serve Bohol and other provinces in the country and abroad. topnotchers in the national licensure examinations for Guidance Counselors (1st Placer) and Psychometricians (8th Placer).

Bachelor of Science in Criminology

Bachelor of Science in Criminology is a four-year program designed to prepare students for careers in law enforcement, crime detection and prevention, criminal investigation,  public safety, custody and rehabilitation of offenders, correctional administration, and criminological research. The program provides the students with the various theories, policies, practices, and laws associated with criminal behavior. The curriculum combines theoretical knowledge with practical application.

Bachelor of Science in Criminology proved to be the program that has inspired many of the young people who wanted to become part of the country’s growing number of police officers, traffic officers, police commissioners, politicians, crime busters/drug busters.

Graduate Programs

  • Master in Public Administration
  • Master of Arts in Philosophy
  • Doctor of Philosophy in Literature

Dean and Program Heads

boloron.jpg
Prof. Dr. Ramon A. Boloron
Dean
cas.dean@hnu.edu.ph

narido.jpg
oppus.jpg
solon.jpg
Prof. Dr. Charina I. Narido
Program Head
BS Biology
cnarido@hnu.edu.ph
Prof. Dr. Anne Mariquit D. Oppus
Program Head
BA Political Science
aoppus@hnu.edu.ph
Prof. Dr. Unilyn E. Solon
Program Head
BS Psychology
usolon@hnu.edu.ph
torralba.jpg
zaluaga.jpg
Prof. Divina Torralba
Program Head
BS Criminology
dtorralba@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Socorro Anne R. Zaluaga
Program Head
BA Comm/General Education
sarevilla@hnu.edu.ph

Faculty Members

PERMANENT FACULTY

Prof. Mauricia S. Bapilar
MA in Science Education
mbapilar@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Ramon A. Boloron
PhD in English
rboloron@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Engr. Angelita P. Gacera
MA in Science Education
agacera@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Sheena B. Lacaba
PhD Public in Administration & Governance
slacaba@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Cathrine C. Napigkit
MS Biology
cnapigkit@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Charina I. Narido
PhD Biology-Marine Biology
cnarido@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Jay Jeorgienita T. Obenza
MPA
jayobenza@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Anne Mariquit D. Oppus
PhD major in Public Administration
aoppus@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Crisanto D. Pancito
EdD Science Education
cpancito@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Engr. Nicetas G. Ruiz
MAED major Science Education
nruiz@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Noel P. Tuazon
Master of Fine Arts Creative Writing
ntuazon@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Cheryl Ann S. Villares
MAED major Mathematics
cvillares@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Socorro Anne R. Zaluaga
DA Literature & Communication
sarevilla@hnu.edu.ph

PROBATIONARY FACULTY

Mr. Jessie Kevin C. Arcadio
MA in Educational Management
jkarcadio@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Kathryn C. Barrete
MS in Biology
kbarrete@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Gyllevi Prylle F. Bongato
PhD in Counselling
gpbongato@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Mark Louie C. Huraño
MA in English
mhurano@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Ethel D. Nabor
MAED major Mathematics
e.nabor@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Paolo M. Rigotti
MS in Business Administration
prigotti@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Pinky T. Rollorata
MA in Counselling Psychology
prollorata@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Ricio M. Salibay
MA Teaching major in Science Technology
rsalibay@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Unilyn E. Solon
PhD Psychology major in Clinical Psychology
usolon@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Hermae Joyce L. Toraja
MAED major in Mathematics
htoraja@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Divina G. Torralba
Master in Criminal Justice
dtorralba@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Angelo O. Tubac
Doctor of Communication
atubac@hnu.edu.ph

PART-TIME FACULTY

Dr. Cenon R. Agbayani, Jr.
PhD in Technology Management
cagbayani@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Anthony T. Albofera
PhD in Criminal Justice major Criminology
aalbofera@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Veronica S. Alpuerto
MA in Science Teaching-Physics
valpuerto@hnu.edu.ph

Engr. Gerry V. Araneta
MPA
Master of Ministry major in Administration & Development
garaneta@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Rosario M. Baseleres
PhD in Development Communication
rbaseleres@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Eutemio G. Biloy
MA in Science Education
ebiloy@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Mark Mauris E. Cabahug
MA in Teaching Social Science
mcabahug@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Ray Ann B. Cagampang
MA in Philosophy
rcagampang@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Daryll Louis T. Camargo
MA in Philosophy
dcamargo@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Erico Joseph T. Cañete
MA in Values Education
ecanete@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Alvin J. Carreon
PhD in Psychology
acarreon@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Ezra May A. Corona
MA in Teaching Social Science
ecorona@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Anthony R. Damalerio
DM major in Human Resource Management
pdrrmo@yahoo.com

Prof. Dr. Esmeraldo E. Damuag
PhD in Criminal Justice major in Criminology
edamuag@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Marecela L. Diloy
MS in Food Science
mdiloy@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Fr. Jose Conrado A. Estafia
Doctorate in Philosophy
jestafia@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Crisanto Jose O. Estonina
MA in Psychology
cestonina@hnu.edu.ph

Fr. Felmar C. Fiel
MS in Development Communication
ffiel@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Teresa C. Garcia
PhD in Education
tgarcia@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Jemimah Joy I. Guarin
j.guarin@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Flora Mae D. Gudez
fgudez@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Charmaine H. Honculada
chonculada@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Ma. Laurice P. Jamero
PhD in Sustainability Science
laujamero@gmail.com

Prof. Dr. Fe R. Janiola
PhD in Education major in Research & Evaluation
fjaniola@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Joseph C. Lajera
MS in Criminal Justice
jlajera@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Fr. Ruel F. Lero, SVD
PhD in Extension Education minor in Development Communication
rlero@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Almira G. Lim
MS in Criminology
aglim@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. May D. Limbaga, CPA
MPA
mlimbaga@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Eduard D. Limbaro, Jr., RPm
elimbarojr@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Jose Marianito M. Luspo
MA in Values Education
mluspo@hnu.edu.ph

PSMS Mr. Jess S. Martinez
jmartinez@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Victoria C. Millanar
EdD Science Education
vmillanar@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Vanzniel Rover A. Nillama
PhD Criminal Justice
vnillama@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Pricilla Banessa N. Ocon
MA in Philosophy
pocon@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Asuncion P. Pabalan
PhD in Educational Management
apabalan@hnu.edu.ph

Ms. Liza Bea M. Paroginog
lparoginog@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Bonifacio M. Quirog Jr.
PhD in Human Resource Management
bquirog@hnu.edu.ph

Mr. Khris Marc M. Ronquillo
MA Psychology
kmronquillo@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Dodelon F. Sabijon
PhD in Criminology
PhD in Human Resource Management
PhD in Public Administration
dsabijon@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Engr. Juliet M. Salgados
EdD major Science Education
jmsalgados@hnu.edu.ph

Dr. Hyacinth N. Suarez
PhD in Biology
hsuarez@hnu.edu.ph

Mrs. Maria Fe Evelyn L. Tampos
MAED in Teaching Elementary Education
mfetampos@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Dr. Frederico B. Ticong
Doctor in Public Administration
fticong@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. Br. Irol A. Torres, SVD
broderrol@hnu.edu.ph

Prof. Atty. John Titus J. Vistal
Master of Regional Economic Development
jtvistal@hnu.edu.ph

Research and Publications


The Critical Significance of Teaching Strategies for English
Published in the JOURNAL OF WORLD ENGLISHES AND EDUCATIONAL PRACTICE (JWEEP) Vol 2, No. 2, 2020 ISSN: 2707-7586 (Online)

The Readiness of Mathematics Teachers in Teaching K-12: The Spiral Approach
Published in the JOURNAL OF WORLD ENGLISHES AND EDUCATIONAL PRACTICE (JWEEP) Vol 2, No. 2, 2020 ISSN: 2707-7586 (Online)

Governance Practices and Problems of Community Officials in the First Congressional District of Bohol, Philippines
Published in the IAMURE INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF SOCIAL SCIENCES
Vol 11, No 1, 2014 ISSN: 2244-1515 (Print) ISSN: 2244-1522 (Online)

Loss of Loboc’s Cultural Heritage Site: Impact and Support Assessment
Published in the INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITY STUDIES
Vol 9, No 1, 2017 ISSN: 1309-8063 (Online)

Current Politics of Foreshore Reclamation in Tagbilaran City: The Emerging Prospects and Challenges
Published in the INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF ECONOMICS AND FINANCE STUDIES
Vol 9, No 1, 2017 ISSN:1309-8055 (Online)

Management Capability Assessment Toward Sustainable Community Based Projects
Published in the INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF BUSINESS AND MANAGEMENT STUDIES
Vol 9, No 1, 2017 ISSN: 1309 -8047 (Online)

Governance of the Barangay Chairpersons in the Municipality of Ubay, Bohol
Published in the INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF BUSINESS AND MANAGEMENT STUDIES
Vol 9, No 1, 2017 ISSN: 1309-8047 (Online)

Level of Awareness and Perception of Elected Officials on the Juvenile Justice and Welfare Act of 2006 (RA 9344)
Published in the INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF BUSINESS AND MANAGEMENT STUDIES
Vol 9, No 1, 2017 ISSN: 1309-8047 (Online)

Exhausted Incentives and Weakening Commitment: The Case of Community-Based Tourism in Pamilacan, Philippines
Published in the PHILIPPINE QUARTERLY OF CULTURE AND SOCIETY
Vol 42, No 1 , 2014 ISSN: 01150243

Otherizing the Badjao: A Spatial Imagery of State Exclusion and Societal Otherization
Published in Erasmus University, 2009 (Erasmus International Institute of Social Studies)

Connectivity and Inter-Dependence: Evolving Social Networks in Pamilacan Community Tourism
Published in the Japanese Repositories Online (JAIRO)
Vol 46, No 3, 2015 ISSN: 1341-37322189-9126
 

Student Organizations


Organization Student Membership
Students’ Action Vital to the
Environment and Mother Earth
(SAVE ME Movement)
BS Biology
Crime Knights BS Criminology
Neo_Psych Society BS Psychology
The Communicators’ Guild BA Communication
Philippine Political Science Association BA Political Science